Harry Kane: Tottenham striker says he ‘felt contact’ to win penalty at Liverpool



Tottenham striker Harry Kane says Liverpool’s Virgil van Dijk was wrong to claim he dived to win a penalty during Sunday’s 2-2 draw at Anfield.

Kane was brought down six minutes from time at Anfield by goalkeeper Loris Karius, who saved the spot-kick.

Defender Van Dijk, who later conceded an injury-time penalty Kane converted, said: “You see him diving clearly.”

But Kane said: “I felt contact and I went down. I’m not going to jump out of the way because it’s football.”

Liverpool were angry the first penalty was awarded, with referee Jon Moss ruling Dejan Lovren’s touch had played Kane onside before the England forward was brought down by Karius.

After the penalty was saved, Mohamed Salah’s brilliant injury-time solo goal – his second of the game – looked to have given the Reds a win that would have taken them five points clear of Spurs.

But the home side were further angered when Spurs were awarded a second spot-kick, after Moss punished Van Dijk for his challenge on substitute Erik Lamela with seconds remaining.

Reds boss Jurgen Klopp said: “If I said what I think, I would pay the biggest fine in world football.”

But Kane praised Moss and assistant referee Ed Smart for their decisions.

“I thought the linesman showed amazing character to give [the second penalty] because a lot happened for the first one so to give that penalty was massive – and it was a penalty,” added the 24-year-old.

Former Spurs and England midfielder Jermaine Jenas said Moss and Smart got one of the decisions wrong.

You can read more of his analysis here.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email